Yesterday, Today, + Tomorrow

I am me – yesterday, today, & tomorrow

Just like I was so many years ago

I was born as a crack baby

When my mama was less a lady

Left me behind at Grandma’s home

Years later, mama passed away alone

She was never around

Nor is she in the ground

She sits on my sister’s mantle in a vase

Simple and plain with a bow of lace

I would say that was the perfect way

Since she’s been gone, I had more sunny days

I never really knew my father or his side

but I have the color of my father’s eyes

I have had loved a woman then a man

I had loved all those that I can

I am me – yesterday, today, & tomorrow

Just like I was so many years ago

I grew up and had my children

By then, my life finally begun

I felt like it’s the month of May

Sunny and warm, everyday

I never knew what being called “Mommy” could do

To my  heart, it melts me down to my shoes

I learned from their love

They had lifted me up

And I shall do the same

Give all of me back to them

I am me – yesterday, today, & tomorrow

Just like I was many years ago

I’m just updated, a better version

More wholesome as a person

I am just like fine wine

I “taste” better with time

Age is just a number to me

Life is a bottomless pit so deep

That no diver and machine can ever

Discover those exclusive Life’s answers

I see now I have been blessed

I can now write my own ballad

I am me – yesterday, today, & tomorrow..

Just like I was so many years ago..

I’m just updated, a better version..

More wholesome as a person…

Leave a Reply

