RISE ABOVE

Don’t judge me by the way I write

Or the way I talk or the strut in my walk

Unless you got a license to criticize

It still ain’t worth squat when you step on my block

I just want to be, want to be loved

I’m sure you do too – let’s rise above

And be the people we want to be

Maybe the world will finally fall in love with me

If I were to write the most magnificent piece

An opportunity will appear in time for me to seize

Patience is a virtue I must practice with faith and love

and I will rise above, I will rise above

Leave a Reply

